News Feeds (RSS) 180220171706604 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/denis-zvizdic-bosnia-future-lies-europe-nato-180220171706604.html Denis Zvizdic: Bosnia's future lies with Europe, NATO EU membership will help resolve Bosnia's border issues and bring economic prosperity, says Denis Zvizdic. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 21:08:59 Z 2018-02-20 21:08 +00:00 2018-02-20 22:08 +01:00 180220195927802 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/abbas-calls-international-peace-conference-unsc-180220195927802.html Abbas calls for international peace conference at UNSC Palestinian Authority president calls for 'multilateral mechanism' during his speech at United Nations Security Council. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 21:03:13 Z 2018-02-20 21:03 +00:00 2018-02-20 22:03 +01:00 180220130842018 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/duterte-bans-rappler-reporters-presidential-palace-180220130842018.html Duterte bans Rappler reporters from presidential palace Journalist group compares Philippine president to 'petulant child' and warns that his action is 'anathema to democracy'. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 20:49:18 Z 2018-02-20 20:49 +00:00 2018-02-20 21:49 +01:00 180220064101130 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/senseless-human-suffering-east-ghouta-180220064101130.html Syrian forces continue bloody offensive in East Ghouta 'Catastrophic' bombardment by Syrian air strikes and artillery fire kills 250 people over the past two days. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 20:44:18 Z 2018-02-20 20:44 +00:00 2018-02-20 21:44 +01:00 180220200116396 http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/insidestory/2018/02/child-mortality-reduced-180220200116396.html Can child mortality be reduced? UN children's agency says world is failing newborn babies with 7,000 deaths every day, mostly from preventable causes. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 20:17:36 Z 2018-02-20 20:17 +00:00 2018-02-20 21:17 +01:00 180220143919759 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/thousands-flee-atrocities-south-eastern-drc-180220143919759.html Congo: Thousands flee amid surge in 'horrific violence' UN warns of 'humanitarian disaster of extraordinary proportions' amid surge of violence in Congo's Tanganyika province. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 20:14:13 Z 2018-02-20 20:14 +00:00 2018-02-20 21:14 +01:00 180220114708410 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/business-politics-vote-close-budapest-bars-180220114708410.html Business, politics and a vote to close Budapest's bars Government-tied business owners need not worry about closing their bars at midnight after low turnout invalidates vote. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 20:06:19 Z 2018-02-20 20:06 +00:00 2018-02-20 21:06 +01:00 180220194950829 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/oxfam-managers-grilled-uk-mps-sex-scandal-180220194950829.html Oxfam managers grilled by UK MPs over sex scandal British MPs are questioning Oxfam about the alleged sexual abuse in Haiti after the 2010 earthquake. But others say the problem is wider and deeper than the Haiti incident and involves more aid organisations. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 19:49:50 Z 2018-02-20 19:49 +00:00 2018-02-20 20:49 +01:00 180220194934843 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/female-led-tv-station-launched-gaza-180220194934843.html First female-led TV station launched in Gaza The new Taif TV is focused on content for women, from issues of empowerment to lighter matters. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 19:49:34 Z 2018-02-20 19:49 +00:00 2018-02-20 20:49 +01:00 180220161832829 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/oxfam-26-sexual-misconduct-claims-11-days-180220161832829.html Oxfam: 26 new sexual misconduct claims in last 11 days British charity has received more than two dozen new sexual misconduct allegations since the Haiti scandal broke out. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 18:25:59 Z 2018-02-20 18:25 +00:00 2018-02-20 19:25 +01:00 180220165006679 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/maldives-extends-state-emergency-30-days-180220165006679.html Maldives extends state of emergency by 30 days Ruling party legislators approve extension of state of emergency on island nation, in a vote opposition says is illegal. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 17:37:43 Z 2018-02-20 17:37 +00:00 2018-02-20 18:37 +01:00 180220145017422 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/pro-government-fighters-move-syria-afrin-180220145017422.html Pro-government fighters move into Syria's Afrin Convoy of 20 vehicles with dozens of fighters enters the besieged Kurdish-held region but met by Turkish artillery. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 17:19:06 Z 2018-02-20 17:19 +00:00 2018-02-20 18:19 +01:00 180220150107120 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/iran-officials-find-wreckage-deadly-plane-crash-180220150107120.html Iran officials find wreckage of deadly plane crash Iranian officials say they have located the site of a plane crash that killed all 65 people on board last week. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 16:51:14 Z 2018-02-20 16:51 +00:00 2018-02-20 17:51 +01:00 180219130441837 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/ethiopia-mass-protests-rooted-country-history-180219130441837.html Ethiopia: Mass protests 'rooted in country's history' Ethiopia declared a state of emergency on the heels of mass anti-government rallies. But just who is protesting and why? Tue, 20 Feb 2018 16:25:07 Z 2018-02-20 16:25 +00:00 2018-02-20 17:25 +01:00 161020075811145 http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/interactive/2016/10/mapping-africa-natural-resources-161020075811145.html Mapping Africa's natural resources An overview of the continent's main natural resources. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 15:10:14 Z 2018-02-20 15:10 +00:00 2018-02-20 16:10 +01:00 180220150913411 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/concerns-laos-dams-environmental-impact-180220150913411.html Concerns over Laos dam's environmental impact The controversial Don Sahong dam in Laos has people arguing that its environmental impacts have not been studied well enough. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 15:09:13 Z 2018-02-20 15:09 +00:00 2018-02-20 16:09 +01:00 180220145258082 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/iraqis-volunteers-rebuild-war-torn-country-180220145258082.html Iraqis volunteer to rebuild their war-torn country In a campaign called 'Lifting the Debris', young Iraqi volunteers are coming together to rebuild Mosul. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 14:52:58 Z 2018-02-20 14:52 +00:00 2018-02-20 15:52 +01:00 180220145251019 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/syrian-national-coalition-ghouta-exterminated-180220145251019.html Syrian National Coalition: Ghouta being 'exterminated' With humanitarian conditions spiralling out of control, the UN and the Syrian opposition are increasingly alarmed at the situation in Eastern Ghouta under Syrian government and Russian bombardment. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 14:52:51 Z 2018-02-20 14:52 +00:00 2018-02-20 15:52 +01:00 180220075337834 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/gonabadi-dervish-protest-leaves-5-dead-tehran-180220075337834.html Gonabadi Dervish protest leaves 5 dead in Tehran More than 300 arrests made after five security forces killed in clashes in Tehran involving Sufi Muslims, reports say. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 14:42:45 Z 2018-02-20 14:42 +00:00 2018-02-20 15:42 +01:00 180220085559692 http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/inpictures/students-lead-protests-gun-violence-180220085559692.html Students lead protests against gun violence in US Young people and their families demand stricter gun control laws after mass shooting at Florida school leaves 17 dead. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 13:54:48 Z 2018-02-20 13:54 +00:00 2018-02-20 14:54 +01:00 180220111402552 http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/opinion/unnatural-born-killers-slaughter-american-innocence-180220111402552.html Unnatural Born Killers: Slaughter of American innocence What is really at the root of madness of regular gun violence in the United States? Tue, 20 Feb 2018 13:25:15 Z 2018-02-20 13:25 +00:00 2018-02-20 14:25 +01:00 180220111619663 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/palmreaders-receive-emojis-skin-180220111619663.html Palmreaders: Would you receive emojis on your skin? Palmreading could take on a whole new meaning with an ultra-thin display and monitor that can be stuck to the body. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 13:21:05 Z 2018-02-20 13:21 +00:00 2018-02-20 14:21 +01:00 180220122748810 http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/opinion/rise-fall-mikheil-saakashvili-180220122748810.html The rise and fall of Mikheil Saakashvili The Saakashvili saga exemplifies how easily one can stray from democratic promise to semi-authoritarian rabble rousing. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 13:16:37 Z 2018-02-20 13:16 +00:00 2018-02-20 14:16 +01:00 180219134002547 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/air-italy-expands-uae-backed-alitalia-bankrupts-180219134002547.html Air Italy expands as UAE-backed Alitalia goes bankrupt Italian airline carrier Meridiana changed its name to Air Italy with the backing of its new shareholder, Qatar Airways. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 13:05:05 Z 2018-02-20 13:05 +00:00 2018-02-20 14:05 +01:00 180220121908006 http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/features/indonesian-tribe-rejects-technology-180220121908006.html The Indonesian tribe that rejects technology The Baduy practice seclusion to protect their ancient traditions, but things are changing. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 12:29:35 Z 2018-02-20 12:29 +00:00 2018-02-20 13:29 +01:00