News Feeds (RSS) 181211082805156 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/arab-league-warns-brazil-move-embassy-jerusalem-181211082805156.html Arab League warns Brazil not to move embassy to Jerusalem Alliance of Arab nations says moving Brazil's embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem would violate international laws. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 10:29:04 Z 2018-12-11 10:29 +00:00 2018-12-11 11:29 +01:00 181211102827353 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/uk-anger-terrorism-conviction-stansted-15-activists-181211102827353.html UK: Anger over terrorism conviction for "Stansted 15' activists Anti-deportation activists' conviction for alleged terrorism offences puts UK's human rights record under spotlight. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 10:28:27 Z 2018-12-11 10:28 +00:00 2018-12-11 11:28 +01:00 181211093237666 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/palestinian-man-shot-dead-alleged-car-ramming-attempt-181211093237666.html Palestinian man shot dead after alleged car-ramming attempt Israeli forces shoot dead 27-year-old near a checkpoint in the occupied West Bank city of Hebron. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 10:04:05 Z 2018-12-11 10:04 +00:00 2018-12-11 11:04 +01:00 181210223637426 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/manic-monday-britain-plunges-deeper-brexit-crisis-181210223637426.html Britain plunges deeper into Brexit crisis European court ruling and suspended parliamentary vote spark political chaos over UK's bid to exit the EU. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 09:49:01 Z 2018-12-11 09:49 +00:00 2018-12-11 10:49 +01:00 181211082400622 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/afghanistan-suicide-bomber-targets-security-convoy-kabul-181211082400622.html Afghanistan: Suicide bomber targets security convoy in Kabul At least four killed, six wounded, in a Taliban-claimed attack targeting a convoy of security forces, officials said. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 09:00:43 Z 2018-12-11 09:00 +00:00 2018-12-11 10:00 +01:00 181210095101832 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/europe/2018/12/french-president-address-nation-yellow-vest-crisis-181210095101832.html French president addresses the nation on 'yellow vest' crisis Emmanuel Macron announces 'immediate and concrete measures' to respond to protesters' grievances. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 08:04:18 Z 2018-12-11 08:04 +00:00 2018-12-11 09:04 +01:00 181204070555021 https://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/war-hotels/2018/12/beirut-commodore-hotel-safe-haven-world-media-181204070555021.html How Beirut's Commodore Hotel became a safe haven for world media Street fighting, sieges and kidnappings were all part of Lebanon's 15-year civil war, witnessed by the iconic hotel. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 07:59:31 Z 2018-12-11 07:59 +00:00 2018-12-11 08:59 +01:00 181211064353455 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/gambian-president-yahya-jammeh-blocked-entering-181211064353455.html Former Gambian President Yahya Jammeh blocked from entering US State department says Jammeh and members of his immediate family are ineligible to enter the United States. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 07:11:02 Z 2018-12-11 07:11 +00:00 2018-12-11 08:11 +01:00 181211053903725 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/eu-renews-sanctions-dr-congo-ruling-party-candidate-181211053903725.html EU renews sanctions against DR Congo ruling-party candidate Travel ban and asset freezes will be renewed for a year against Emmanuel Ramazani Shadary and 13 others, EU says. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 06:45:37 Z 2018-12-11 06:45 +00:00 2018-12-11 07:45 +01:00 181211052444109 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/india-bjp-trailing-key-regional-elections-partial-results-181211052444109.html India's BJP trailing in key regional elections: partial results Analysts say a big loss for prime minister's ruling party could unite opposition ahead of elections next year. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 06:20:01 Z 2018-12-11 06:20 +00:00 2018-12-11 07:20 +01:00 181211051928170 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/thailand-election-commission-sets-february-24-poll-date-181211051928170.html Thailand's election commission sets February 24 poll date Announcement is followed by military government saying it is lifting a four-year ban on political activities. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 06:19:57 Z 2018-12-11 06:19 +00:00 2018-12-11 07:19 +01:00 181206060132667 https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/features/nepal-children-risk-sexual-abuse-aid-sector-181206060132667.html Nepal's children at risk: Sexual abuse in the aid sector Is the international aid community doing enough to protect children in vulnerable communities? Tue, 11 Dec 2018 06:07:37 Z 2018-12-11 06:07 +00:00 2018-12-11 07:07 +01:00 181211041030433 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/china-discuss-trade-talks-timetable-181211041030433.html China and US discuss trade talks timetable Top officials from world's two largest economies discuss plan for next stage of their trade negotiations. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 04:43:37 Z 2018-12-11 04:43 +00:00 2018-12-11 05:43 +01:00 181209182622159 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/117-years-set-return-war-trophy-bells-philippines-181209182622159.html 117 years on, US returns war-trophy bells to Philippines Balangiga bells, taken by US troops from burning town after 1901 clash, arrive back in the Philippines on Tuesday. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 04:41:41 Z 2018-12-11 04:41 +00:00 2018-12-11 05:41 +01:00 181211022504802 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/huawei-cfo-proposes-electronic-monitoring-bail-hearing-adjourned-181211022504802.html Huawei CFO proposes electronic monitoring, bail hearing adjourned Meng Wanzhou's bail hearing resumes but court is adjourned for a day as no decision is reached in high-profile case. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 03:13:17 Z 2018-12-11 03:13 +00:00 2018-12-11 04:13 +01:00 181210192931434 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/macron-addresses-nation-announces-rise-minimum-wage-181210192931434.html Macron addresses the nation; announces rise in minimum wage In his first comments since deadly protests erupted over social inequality, Emmanuel Macron offers an olive branch. Tue, 11 Dec 2018 02:15:26 Z 2018-12-11 02:15 +00:00 2018-12-11 03:15 +01:00 181210211708710 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/british-pm-blinks-cancels-brexit-vote-181210211708710.html British PM blinks - and cancels Brexit vote Brexit vote delay underscores high political stakes involved for PM May and how it continues to sow deep divisions. Mon, 10 Dec 2018 21:40:17 Z 2018-12-10 21:40 +00:00 2018-12-10 22:40 +01:00 181210182434052 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/saudi-opposition-joins-forces-london-tackle-oppression-181210182434052.html Saudi opposition joins forces in London to tackle 'oppression' Speakers at second Saudi diaspora conference say time to unite is now after murder of journalist Jamal Khashoggi. Mon, 10 Dec 2018 20:55:12 Z 2018-12-10 20:55 +00:00 2018-12-10 21:55 +01:00 181210201556772 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/video-shows-ny-police-pulling-baby-mother-arms-181210201556772.html 'Appalling' video shows NY police pulling baby from mother's arms Outrage over video showing NYPD officers violently yanking toddler from his mother's arms at Brooklyn food stamp office. Mon, 10 Dec 2018 20:54:14 Z 2018-12-10 20:54 +00:00 2018-12-10 21:54 +01:00 181210182848026 https://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/insidestory/2018/12/human-rights-issues-facing-world-today-181210182848026.html What are the human rights issues facing the world today? It has been 70 years since a milestone human rights document was adopted by the United Nations. Mon, 10 Dec 2018 20:03:56 Z 2018-12-10 20:03 +00:00 2018-12-10 21:03 +01:00 181210152730941 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/uk-pm-theresa-delays-crunch-vote-brexit-deal-181210152730941.html UK PM Theresa May delays crunch vote on her Brexit deal Ruling Conservative Party leader faced a major defeat in parliament over her proposed EU withdrawal agreement. Mon, 10 Dec 2018 19:28:15 Z 2018-12-10 19:28 +00:00 2018-12-10 20:28 +01:00 181210183653737 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/top-court-rebuffs-state-bids-cut-planned-parenthood-funds-181210183653737.html US top court rebuffs state bids to cut Planned Parenthood funds Court declines to review Louisiana, Kansas appeals seeking to end funding to the reproductive health organisation. Mon, 10 Dec 2018 19:02:38 Z 2018-12-10 19:02 +00:00 2018-12-10 20:02 +01:00 181210090218297 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/twitter-ceo-slammed-promoting-myanmar-ignoring-rohingya-181210090218297.html Twitter CEO slammed for promoting Myanmar, ignoring Rohingya Jack Dorsey encouraged his 4 million followers to visit Myanmar even though military is accused of 'ethnic cleansing'. Mon, 10 Dec 2018 18:56:48 Z 2018-12-10 18:56 +00:00 2018-12-10 19:56 +01:00 181210184242903 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/iraqs-yazidis-forgotten-world-isil-attacks-181210184242903.html Iraq's Yazidis 'forgotten by world' since ISIL attacks Years after the community was decimated, they are still internally displaced and feel abandoned by the world. Mon, 10 Dec 2018 18:42:42 Z 2018-12-10 18:42 +00:00 2018-12-10 19:42 +01:00 181210155912095 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/12/qatari-envoy-gaza-airport-proposed-israel-unresponsive-181210155912095.html Qatari envoy says Gaza airport was proposed, Israel unresponsive Qatari Ambassador Mohammed al-Emadi accuses Israel of procrastinating over Gulf state's request to build Gaza airport. Mon, 10 Dec 2018 18:32:15 Z 2018-12-10 18:32 +00:00 2018-12-10 19:32 +01:00