News Feeds (RSS) 190525192219820 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/iranian-fm-visits-baghdad-discuss-rising-tensions-190525192219820.html Iranian FM visits Baghdad to discuss rising tensions with the US Visit by Mohammad Javad Zarif comes as Iraqi leaders express their readiness to mediate in the US-Iran crisis. Sat, 25 May 2019 21:20:11 Z 2019-05-25 21:20 +00:00 2019-05-25 23:20 +02:00 190525201915378 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/opposition-rallies-save-israel-netanyahu-190525201915378.html Opposition rallies to 'save' Israel from Netanyahu Organisers said tens of thousands of people participated in the Tel Aviv event, but police estimate a far lower turnout. Sat, 25 May 2019 20:50:53 Z 2019-05-25 20:50 +00:00 2019-05-25 22:50 +02:00 190525195929542 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/uganda-protests-rwandan-military-violation-territory-190525195929542.html Uganda protests Rwandan military's 'violation of territory' Kampala says Rwandan troops crossed border and killed two men, but Kigali dismisses the account as 'fake news'. Sat, 25 May 2019 20:43:23 Z 2019-05-25 20:43 +00:00 2019-05-25 22:43 +02:00 190525172734012 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/hundreds-migrants-refugees-rescued-malta-italy-190525172734012.html Hundreds of migrants and refugees rescued off Malta, Italy Authorities say more than 200 people were picked up by the Maltese navy, while Italian police took 54 people to shore. Sat, 25 May 2019 18:23:49 Z 2019-05-25 18:23 +00:00 2019-05-25 20:23 +02:00 190525163445880 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/lebanon-denies-forcing-syrian-refugees-home-190525163445880.html Lebanon denies forcing Syrian refugees back home At least sixteen deportees say they were pressured into signing forms saying they voluntarily agreed to return home. Sat, 25 May 2019 18:05:15 Z 2019-05-25 18:05 +00:00 2019-05-25 20:05 +02:00 190525173233357 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/libya-fighting-clashes-tripolis-airport-190525173233357.html Libya fighting: Clashes near Tripoli's old airport There has been renewed fighting on the outskirts of Tripoli between forces battling for the capital. Sat, 25 May 2019 17:32:33 Z 2019-05-25 17:32 +00:00 2019-05-25 19:32 +02:00 190525082303060 https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/inpictures/monster-tornado-hits-jefferson-city-missouri-190525082303060.html Monster tornado hits Jefferson City, Missouri Just before midnight on May 23, the massive EF-3 tornado tore through the city damaging about 500 homes and buildings. Sat, 25 May 2019 17:13:25 Z 2019-05-25 17:13 +00:00 2019-05-25 19:13 +02:00 190525153714025 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/malawi-court-orders-vote-recount-opposition-complaints-190525153714025.html Malawi court orders vote recount after opposition complaints MCP went to court after noticing 'irregularities' in presidential results from 10 of the country's 28 districts. Sat, 25 May 2019 16:36:17 Z 2019-05-25 16:36 +00:00 2019-05-25 18:36 +02:00 190525161643645 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/us-iran-tensions-iraqis-fear-involvement-dispute-190525161643645.html US-Iran tensions: Iraqis fear involvement in dispute With Iraq's plans to send delegations to Washington and Tehran to try to find a solution for the tension between the two countries, Iraqis fear their country could be caught in the middle. Sat, 25 May 2019 16:16:43 Z 2019-05-25 16:16 +00:00 2019-05-25 18:16 +02:00 190525161110573 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/bangladeshs-disappeared-families-demand-release-detainees-190525161110573.html Bangladesh's disappeared families demand release of detainees Human rights groups say more than 400 people have disappeared in the last nine years, some have been found dead. Sat, 25 May 2019 16:11:10 Z 2019-05-25 16:11 +00:00 2019-05-25 18:11 +02:00 190525135602246 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/trump-opens-state-visit-japan-jab-trade-imbalance-190525135602246.html Trump opens state visit to Japan with jab at trade imbalance The US President's four-day visit will include discussions about trade and North Korea with Prime Minister Shinzo Abe. Sat, 25 May 2019 15:44:24 Z 2019-05-25 15:44 +00:00 2019-05-25 17:44 +02:00 190525134407380 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/court-orders-russia-free-detained-ukraine-sailors-190525134407380.html UN court orders Russia to free detained Ukraine sailors Moscow has held three Ukrainian ships and 24 sailors since capturing them in the Kerch Strait in November. Sat, 25 May 2019 15:18:24 Z 2019-05-25 15:18 +00:00 2019-05-25 17:18 +02:00 190525150045920 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/measles-outbreak-push-religious-exemptions-190525150045920.html US measles outbreak push to end religious exemptions Eliminating the religious exemption has raised vaccination rates in California, though the number of children seeking medical exemptions there has tripled. Sat, 25 May 2019 15:00:45 Z 2019-05-25 15:00 +00:00 2019-05-25 17:00 +02:00 190525142815280 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/ukraine-russia-dispute-naval-case-heard-tribunal-190525142815280.html Ukraine-Russia dispute naval case to be heard at UN tribunal International monitors report regular violations of the truce from both pro-Russian and pro-Ukrainian sides. Sat, 25 May 2019 14:28:15 Z 2019-05-25 14:28 +00:00 2019-05-25 16:28 +02:00 190525112329803 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/civilians-killed-air-raids-yemen-taiz-province-190525112329803.html Several civilians killed in air raids in Yemen's Taiz province Two children are among those killed in a Saudi-UAE-led coalition air attack in the Mawiya district of Taiz. Sat, 25 May 2019 14:17:50 Z 2019-05-25 14:17 +00:00 2019-05-25 16:17 +02:00 190525134500476 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/activists-raise-privacy-concern-kenyas-biometric-system-190525134500476.html Activists raise privacy concern over Kenya's new biometric system The new card will hold personal details about individuals and is costing taxpayers about $500m Everyone above the age of six will be expected to have one. Sat, 25 May 2019 13:45:00 Z 2019-05-25 13:45 +00:00 2019-05-25 15:45 +02:00 190525110527383 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/south-africa-huge-challenges-ramaphosa-takes-oath-190525110527383.html South Africa: 'Huge' challenges as Ramaphosa takes oath Ramaphosa faces task of cleaning up his African National Congress party, which has been mired in corruption scandals. Sat, 25 May 2019 13:34:17 Z 2019-05-25 13:34 +00:00 2019-05-25 15:34 +02:00 190525104312697 https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/opinion/awaits-india-narendra-modi-sweeping-victory-190525104312697.html Should we fear for India's democracy? There are at least three reasons to worry about the future of the country. Sat, 25 May 2019 13:20:05 Z 2019-05-25 13:20 +00:00 2019-05-25 15:20 +02:00 190522094737944 https://www.aljazeera.com/blogs/middleeast/2019/05/simple-iconic-pei-museum-islamic-art-reshaped-qatar-190522094737944.html Simple, iconic: How I M Pei's Museum of Islamic Art reshaped Qatar The Chinese-born architect was known for transforming cityscapes - Doha residents share how he changed theirs. Sat, 25 May 2019 13:13:40 Z 2019-05-25 13:13 +00:00 2019-05-25 15:13 +02:00 190525090827747 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/volcano-erupts-indonesia-bali-disrupts-australia-flights-190525090827747.html Volcano erupts in Indonesia's Bali, disrupts Australia flights National disaster agency says the eruption lasted four minutes and spread lava about three kilometres from the crater. Sat, 25 May 2019 12:45:31 Z 2019-05-25 12:45 +00:00 2019-05-25 14:45 +02:00 190525101842119 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/years-war-poverty-toll-afghanistan-healthcare-190525101842119.html Years of war and poverty take toll on Afghanistan's healthcare The war-torn South Asian country faces an additional issue of funding as it struggles to build its healthcare system. Sat, 25 May 2019 12:38:17 Z 2019-05-25 12:38 +00:00 2019-05-25 14:38 +02:00 190525122933224 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/yemen-funerals-held-sanaa-air-attack-victims-190525122933224.html Yemen: Funerals held for Sanaa air attack victims Air attacks and renewed fighting in Yemen's Hodeidah port city further complicate UN-sponsored peace efforts to end the four-year war. Sat, 25 May 2019 12:29:33 Z 2019-05-25 12:29 +00:00 2019-05-25 14:29 +02:00 190525120759944 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/india-elections-modi-formally-elected-mps-190525120759944.html India elections: Modi to be formally elected by MPs Modi to meet parliamentarians at a special session on Saturday for formality to set in motion formation of new government. Sat, 25 May 2019 12:07:59 Z 2019-05-25 12:07 +00:00 2019-05-25 14:07 +02:00 190525113010044 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/ambulance-system-verge-collapse-190525113010044.html US ambulance system on the verge of collapse About 46 million rural Americans rely on volunteer ambulance services in which emergency medical technicians work for free. Sat, 25 May 2019 11:30:10 Z 2019-05-25 11:30 +00:00 2019-05-25 13:30 +02:00 190525105901439 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/05/mount-everest-death-toll-reaches-10-climbing-season-190525105901439.html Mount Everest death toll reaches 10 for this climbing season Latest victim, Robin Haynes Fisher, 44, died early Saturday at 8,700 metres after returning from the summit. Sat, 25 May 2019 11:20:30 Z 2019-05-25 11:20 +00:00 2019-05-25 13:20 +02:00