News Feeds (RSS) 190920040636503 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/planet-thousands-join-global-climate-strike-asia-190920040636503.html 'No Planet B': Millions join global climate strike From New York to Istanbul, young activists abandon school to demand immediate action on climate change. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 20:40:52 Z 2019-09-20 20:40 +00:00 2019-09-20 22:40 +02:00 190920183400987 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/deadly-bombing-targets-bus-iraqi-city-karbala-190920183400987.html Multiple casualties after bomb goes off on bus outside Karbala Security officials say several others wounded after explosive device planted on the bus detonated. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 20:34:10 Z 2019-09-20 20:34 +00:00 2019-09-20 22:34 +02:00 190920164229159 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/football-roma-online-campaign-helps-find-missing-children-190920164229159.html Football: Roma's online campaign helps find five missing children Fifth child found after Italian football club shares details of missing youth in videos of transfer announcements. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 20:28:02 Z 2019-09-20 20:28 +00:00 2019-09-20 22:28 +02:00 190920172917593 https://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/insidestory/2019/09/guarantee-gulf-security-190920172917593.html Can the US guarantee Gulf security? Washington has blamed Tehran for the attack on Saudi oil facilities and says it's now building a coalition against Iran. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 20:21:36 Z 2019-09-20 20:21 +00:00 2019-09-20 22:21 +02:00 190920183802126 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/houthis-stop-attacks-saudi-arabia-190920183802126.html Yemen's Houthis say will stop all attacks on Saudi Arabia Houthi leader says the rebels will stop drone attacks and expect Saudi Arabia to stop targeting Yemeni territory. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 19:29:04 Z 2019-09-20 19:29 +00:00 2019-09-20 21:29 +02:00 190920140507426 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/states-blocking-data-firms-israeli-settlements-190920140507426.html 'Powerful states' blocking data on firms in Israeli settlements Amnesty urges UN member states to demand release of database listing companies operating in the illegal settlements. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 17:58:25 Z 2019-09-20 17:58 +00:00 2019-09-20 19:58 +02:00 190920155545148 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/trump-defends-whistle-blower-complaint-190920155545148.html Trump defends himself against whistle-blower complaint Trump calls whistle-blower 'partisan', even though he said he doesn't know the identity or precise allegations. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 17:34:29 Z 2019-09-20 17:34 +00:00 2019-09-20 19:34 +02:00 190920140746661 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/philippines-launches-polio-vaccine-campaign-outbreak-190920140746661.html Philippines launches polio vaccine campaign after new outbreak Two cases have been confirmed in children and traces of the virus were found in sewage in two regions. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 17:23:28 Z 2019-09-20 17:23 +00:00 2019-09-20 19:23 +02:00 190920094223248 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/merkel-deliver-germany-climate-plan-protests-190920094223248.html Merkel to deliver Germany's climate plan amid protests Protesters hit the streets as politicians agree on a mix of emissions trading and higher taxes to tackle climate change. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 16:46:45 Z 2019-09-20 16:46 +00:00 2019-09-20 18:46 +02:00 190920150318988 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/thousands-march-algeria-protest-election-call-190920150318988.html Thousands march in Algeria in first protest since election call Demonstrators reject call by powerful army chief to hold presidential election by December and demand his removal. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 16:37:34 Z 2019-09-20 16:37 +00:00 2019-09-20 18:37 +02:00 190920141443883 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/climate-strike-100000-londoners-stage-protests-190920141443883.html Climate strike: Almost 100,000 Londoners stage protests More than 200 demonstrations took place across the UK as workers were actively encouraged to join protesting students. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 16:18:17 Z 2019-09-20 16:18 +00:00 2019-09-20 18:18 +02:00 190920153336750 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/planet-sos-amazon-fires-fears-rainforest-desert-190920153336750.html Planet SOS: Amazon fires fears rainforest will become desert Last month, the number of wildfires in the Amazon tripled compared with the previous year. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 15:33:36 Z 2019-09-20 15:33 +00:00 2019-09-20 17:33 +02:00 190920103448286 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/moscow-frees-actor-convicted-role-anti-putin-protests-190920103448286.html Moscow frees actor convicted of role in anti-Putin protests Pavel Ustinov denied he had taken part in opposition protests in Moscow last month. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 15:20:39 Z 2019-09-20 15:20 +00:00 2019-09-20 17:20 +02:00 190920114022215 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/minister-india-ruling-bjp-arrested-rape-claim-190920114022215.html Former minister from India's ruling BJP arrested after rape claim Swami Chinmayanand of the Hindu nationalist party arrested in Uttar Pradesh state for allegedly raping a student. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 14:56:00 Z 2019-09-20 14:56 +00:00 2019-09-20 16:56 +02:00 190920120042277 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/uk-qatar-relationship-strength-strength-190920120042277.html UK-Qatar relationship going 'from strength to strength' British PM Johnson hosts emir of Qatar for talks on strengthening strategic relations. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 14:25:33 Z 2019-09-20 14:25 +00:00 2019-09-20 16:25 +02:00 190920142301352 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/fighting-al-shabab-trains-elite-somali-forces-190920142301352.html Fighting al-Shabab: US trains elite Somali forces Somali government officials say this elite force is comprised of soldiers from almost all of Somalia's tribes and clans. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 14:23:01 Z 2019-09-20 14:23 +00:00 2019-09-20 16:23 +02:00 190920121135065 https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/inpictures/pictures-protests-worldwide-action-climate-change-190920121135065.html In Pictures: Protests worldwide for action against climate change Friday marked a day of rallies as people called for action against climate change before a UN Climate Action Summit. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 14:17:00 Z 2019-09-20 14:17 +00:00 2019-09-20 16:17 +02:00 190806134011673 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/08/india-revokes-kashmir-special-status-latest-updates-190806134011673.html Kashmir under lockdown: All the latest updates Latest updates as India abrogates Kashmir's special status and imposes a security lockdown which is in its second month. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 13:25:39 Z 2019-09-20 13:25 +00:00 2019-09-20 15:25 +02:00 190920120454594 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/indonesia-widodo-urges-delay-law-banning-extramarital-sex-190920120454594.html Indonesia's president delays vote on law banning extramarital sex Under proposed law, people who have premarital or extramarital sex could face between six months and one year in jail. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 12:59:21 Z 2019-09-20 12:59 +00:00 2019-09-20 14:59 +02:00 190920124504761 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/supreme-court-decision-uk-parliament-suspension-week-190920124504761.html Supreme Court decision on UK Parliament suspension next week British Prime Minister Boris Johnson should find out next week whether his decision to suspend parliament ahead of the October 31 Brexit deadline was legal. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 12:45:04 Z 2019-09-20 12:45 +00:00 2019-09-20 14:45 +02:00 190920123353460 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/qatari-emir-meets-british-pm-johnson-london-190920123353460.html Qatari emir meets British PM Johnson in London Talks between the leaders focus on strengthening relations between the two nations. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 12:33:53 Z 2019-09-20 12:33 +00:00 2019-09-20 14:33 +02:00 190920122247292 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/nomad-games-kyrgyzstan-embraces-nomadic-history-190920122247292.html Nomad Games Kyrgyzstan embraces nomadic history Kyrgyzstan is trying to boost its image and revive lost traditions. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 12:22:47 Z 2019-09-20 12:22 +00:00 2019-09-20 14:22 +02:00 190920092154808 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/flooding-southeast-texas-leaves-dead-190920092154808.html Flooding in southeast Texas kills two people Rescue crews use boats to reach stranded drivers and families trapped in their homes. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 12:11:28 Z 2019-09-20 12:11 +00:00 2019-09-20 14:11 +02:00 190916102800973 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/saudi-oil-attacks-latest-updates-190916102800973.html Saudi oil attacks: All the latest updates UN chief Antonio Guterres says a team of experts has left for Saudi Arabia to investigate attacks on oil installations. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 11:56:48 Z 2019-09-20 11:56 +00:00 2019-09-20 13:56 +02:00 190225202457543 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/02/2020-democratic-presidential-candidates-190225202457543.html Who are the 2020 US Democratic presidential candidates? The pool of candidates vying for their party's nomination in 2020 is among the largest and most diverse in US history. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 11:48:12 Z 2019-09-20 11:48 +00:00 2019-09-20 13:48 +02:00